Reaching for Roses: The Beginning of the Journey

December 28, 2011

Back Again

Well to say that it’s been awhile since my last post would be an understatement. After posting consistently for the past year and a half, I haven’t posted in more than three months. So before we start 2012, I wanted to update everyone on what’s been going on in my life.

Let’s start with Skype. Most of you know that Skype was purchased at the 2011 Keeneland September Yearling Sale for $7,000. You might not know that she was purchased by connections from Puerto Rico and has been sent there to begin training. It’s not the best thing in the world and I would have much rather her gone to anAmerican outfit, but that’s the way it goes in a public auction. I can only control her reserve, but not who purchases her once the price goes beyond it. It took awhile for me to “make peace” with the situation, but I’m fine with it now. Hopefully she’ll be a big fish in a fairly small pond and can get herself some black type.

Puerto Rico’s racing falls under the jurisdiction of the Jockey Club so I’ll be able to follow her races. She has been named Score Classy by her new owners and has begun some light training. I found a man on Facebook who works with her in Puerto Rico and he sent me this picture of her. Technology is pretty cool, huh?

Now moving on to Faith…

I went to see Faith last week and she’s doing really well. She’s gotten big since I saw her last and has a striking resemblance to her older sister. I guess Sky really “stamps her foals.”

After taking a look at Faith, I went to the other side of the farm to see her mom, Sky. Sky is currently in foal to Stevie Wonderboy and is due to drop around the beginning of April. Stevie Wonderboy has had a pretty decent year as a freshman sire. He’s had a handful of winners and a couple of stakes winners with a crop smaller than many of the other sires at the top of the freshman list. Hopefully he will have continued success as his first crop of 2-year-olds turn three and begin running longer distances.

One more update on my animals…I added another chestnut filly to my life a couple of weeks ago. She’s just a tad smaller than the first two (and previously three) that I have in my life.

Her name is Lilly and she is a six-month-old dachshund. My girlfriend Amanda and I rescued her from an animal shelter in Louisville. She loves dogs and finally convinced me to get a pet that I wouldn’t ever have to sell haha. If you ask me why she is named Lilly, I would tell you that she is named after the flowers given to the winner of the Kentucky Oaks (yes, I know the flower is spelled lily). My girlfriend would tell you that she is named after Lilly Pulitzer, the designer. Oh well…it was a name we could both agree upon. She turned down Sara (for Saratoga), which I didn’t think was too bad. I didn’t even suggest Personal Ensign…didn’t think that would go over too well.

Moving on to my work at Churchill Downs…

I made it through the Fall Meet and it was a ton of fun. It really flew by, though, because it was non-stop action from start to finish. We began the meet with Stars of Tomorrow I and the Breeders’ Cup and ended things with a Thanksgiving weekend packed with stakes action. Hopefully some of you were able to read the Barn Notes I wrote at ChurchillDowns.com. If not, look for them in the Spring. My meet highlights included Royal Delta’s win in the Ladies’ Classic, St Nicholas Abbey’s dominating performance in the Turf and Gemologist’s win in the Kentucky Jockey Club.

I took last week and this week off for the holidays and start back after the New Year. I’m told that the craziness preparing for the Derby will begin as soon as I step in the office. I probably don’t have any idea what’s in store for me and maybe that’s a good thing. It’ll be a lot of early mornings and late nights, but it’ll be all worth it on May 5.

I apologize for not posting in a while and I promise to keep this blog more updated throughout 2012. Thanks for reading and have a fantastic New Year.

5 Comments »

  1. Faith’s birthday is right around the corner along with all thoroughbreds on January 1, 2012. Her actual first birthday is on (and correct me if I am wrong) February 6, 2012.

    Sara? Now that sounds good to me. Well, I will give my friend Amanda a pass on that one. She has not been to Saratoga – yet. Something tells me Amanda and Saratoga will become instant friends. And, by the way, Saratoga Springs has a Lilly Pulitzer Store (called the Pink Paddock) right on Broadway in the heart of the Spa City. I guess if Travers has a great day at the track it will all wash out at the Lilly Pulitzer Store.

    I love Skype and Lilly is nice. But the one to place your money on down the road will be Faith. I am counting on that A+++ Nick to come through big time. Faith has the Phipps family blood running through her veins (courtesy of her sire, Parading) and even has a nice touch of Personal Ensign in her bloodlines. Go Faith Go!

    Comment by Observer — December 28, 2011 @ 4:37 pm | Reply

  2. I look forward to following the updates on Skype, which I’m sure you will be tracking right along in her progress.

    The rest of your readers will no doubt be waiting to hear more and more details of the build-up to the First Saturday in May, if you have time to comment on the different stages and items that occur.

    All the best,
    Frank.

    Comment by fmitchell07 — December 28, 2011 @ 5:42 pm | Reply

  3. I have been considering calling Frank to ask where you got off to. Watched your filly go under the hammer on internet.

    Comment by Jim Culpepper — December 29, 2011 @ 11:41 am | Reply

  4. Travers,

    It looks like you are blessed with many beautiful fillies to keep you happy!

    Comment by Cathy Grimes — January 13, 2012 @ 1:10 pm | Reply

  5. Travers, nice to see you back after your ‘ vacation’ and thank you for the updates. More filly’s in your life? four legged and two legged ? …it’s all good 🙂 I look ofrward to seeing where 2012 takes you and your ‘gals’. Enjoy!

    Comment by SR Vegas — January 15, 2012 @ 9:04 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

