Reaching for Roses: The Beginning of the Journey

August 11, 2010

News About Skype

The Manley family vacation to Saratoga has come and gone. Today both of my parents went back to work and tomorrow I will be heading back to Lexington to prepare for my senior year at UK. While I was in Saratoga I received some news from my farm manager, Frank Mitchell, regarding Skype. My Even the Score filly, Skype, is now officially a weanling. According to Frank, both Sky and Skype have handled the weaning process very well and both are happy and healthy. Skype remained in her normal paddock with some nanny mares and another weanling, a Nobiz Like Shobiz filly nicknamed Gizmo. Sky moved across the farm to a different paddock with Gizmo’s dam and a couple of other broodmares.

The other piece of news regarding Skype is actually more of an announcement. I have been debating on what to do with Skype for months now. The original plan was to send her to the Keeneland November sale, but I decided against that after consulting with Frank, my dad, and a few consignors. The next idea was to try to sell Skype privately, but that idea was eventually turned down as well. Other ideas discussed included selling Skype in next year’s Keeneland September sale, syndicating her and selling shares of her, and keeping her and racing her myself. I’ve done a lot of thinking and the decision was not easy, but I have made a final decision regarding my girl. 

Skype will be going into the Keeneland January sale and will be consigned by Warrendale Sales. Warrendale was the first consignor to come to Frank’s farm and take a personal look at Skype and they pursued the opportunity to consign her more than any other consignor. Also, Warrendale’s Hunter Simms has a special connection with Sky. He worked with Sky as a young filly while she was at Stone Farm, where she was bred. I wrote a post a couple of months ago about meeting Hunter for the first time and it can be read at https://reachingforroses.wordpress.com/2010/06/14/what-a-small-world/.

So, that’s the plan. The January sale is about five months away and hopefully everything runs smoothly between now and then.

1 Comment »

  1. Skype is looking good and hoping for rain so she can play in the mud. Or at least roll in it.

    Comment by fmitchell07 — August 12, 2010 @ 11:51 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.